Tim Carnahan named Elementary Principal of the Year

Columbia, S.C. — Dr. Tim Carnahan, principal of Waccamaw Intermediate School in Georgetown County School District, has been named the 2018 South Carolina Elementary Principal of the Year by the South Carolina Association of School Administrators (SCASA). This award was presented on Wednesday, December 6, 2017 in a surprise announcement.

Dr. Carnahan was selected from an outstanding field of administrator candidates by a veteran panel of judges. The other finalists for the award were Aimee Fulmer from Westview Elementary School in Berkeley County School District and Denise Fredericks from Townville Elementary School in Anderson School District Four. The criteria used in the selection of this coveted award are set by the National Association of Elementary School Principals. State sponsors are Horace Mann & Herff Jones.

"We are excited to announce that Tim Carnahan has been named the SCASA Elementary Principal of the Year," said Beth Phibbs, Executive Director of the South Carolina Association of School Administrators. "He is an excellent leader whose dedication to the students, teachers, and community creates a climate and culture for students to succeed.”

Georgetown County School District Superintendent, Dr. Randy Dozier, stated, “This honor for Dr. Tim Carnahan is a real testimony to the work and dedication he has provided at Waccamaw Intermediate. He is extremely talented and dedicated as a principal, as well as a wonderful family man. He is an inspiration to many people."

SCASA, the professional organization for school leaders in South Carolina, has more than 4,200 members. From professional development opportunities and research, to publications and legislative advocacy, SCASA’s focus is to support school leaders in providing the best possible education for South Carolina’s young people. As a state affiliate of three national associations for school leaders, SCASA also works on the national level.