Andrew Vaughan named 2018 Resident Physician of the Year

Andrew Vaughan, M.D., family medicine resident physician, was named the 2018 Palmetto Health Resident Physician of the Year at the annual medical and dental resident physician’s graduation ceremony Thursday, June 7.

The award recognizes physicians’ medical knowledge and abilities, as well as their commitment to Palmetto Health’s values of compassion, dignity, excellence, integrity and teamwork. Vaughan received a plaque, a certificate and $2,500.

Vaughan completed his third year of training in family medicine as Chief Resident, and will join the Palmetto Health-USC Family Medicine Center physician group and the residency program faculty. He was nominated by Paul Bornemann, M.D., program director for the Family Medicine Program, and was chosen by the Richland Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees.

Bornemann said, “Dr. Vaughan has been a resident who has never failed to exemplify the qualities of compassion, dignity, excellence, integrity and teamwork over his three years in the Family Medicine Program. Whether it has been his empathy toward his patients, his love of teaching, or the leadership and role modeling he has demonstrated as Chief Resident, it has all come together to create a fine example of what future residents should aspire to become.”

Additionally, Bornemann indicated Vaughan’s excellence in his role as a teacher. “He was elected by rotating medical students as Teacher of the Month three times.” Vaughan was chosen this year by the graduating class of University of South Carolina medical students as their top resident instructor.

Four other residents nominated for the Resident Physician of the Year award include Douglas Davis, M.D., Neurology; W. Casey Ferrara, D.O., Emergency Medicine; Stephanie Hrisko, M.D., General Psychiatry, and Ashley Jones, M.D., Surgery. Each nominee received a certificate of recognition and a $250 cash award.


SCBIZtv is part of the SC Biz News family, serving 100,000 high-level business execs throughout South Carolina. Click for more from SCBIZtv.