Columbia Design League Launches 22nd Season

Internationally recognized urban planner visits Columbia to present keynote at annual meeting on Thursday, September 6.

(Columbia, SC) — The Columbia Design League, an affiliate group of the Columbia Museum of Art, has begun its 22nd season of programming.

The new season begins Thursday, September 6 with How Tactical Urbanism Can Help Make Columbia More Livable (and Lovable). Tactical urbanism expert Mike Lydon of Street Plans, an award-winning urban planning, design and research/advocacy firm, will offer insight into how city government, community organizations and citizens can collaborate in the transformation of streets, public spaces and the revitalization of underutilized property using short-term, low-cost and scalable projects.

The annual meeting will begin with a social hour at 6:00 p.m. with the presentation scheduled to begin around 7:00 p.m. Light refreshments, and beer and wine will be served. Attendance is free for current members of the Columbia Design League and $10 for nonmembers. Please RSVP to attend.

To take advantage of the full season of programming, Columbia Design League members can renew their annual memberships to the Columbia Museum of Art and add affiliate membership to the Columbia Design League. The cost of Columbia Design League membership is $15 for an individual member or $25 for all other members, plus the cost of museum membership.

The program season, which lasts until June 2019, includes the annual meeting as well as the following events*:

  • Meet the Designer: The Hendrix Experience (October)
  • The Public Restroom: Fear, Decency and Design (November 7)
  • Meet the Designer: BullStreet Community Party and Bus Tour (February 9)
  • Mike Ford, The Hip-Hop Architect (March)
  • Play with Your City (April)
  • Dinner by Design (June)

* Dates, speakers and location are subject to change.

Mike will return to Columbia to serve as jury chair for the Columbia Design League’s upcoming Play with Your City initiative, featuring a design competition to link the Main Street and Vista districts of the city.

This season, the Columbia Design League also welcomes three new board members: interior designer Anna Dis Sveinbjornsdottir of Pond & Company; designer Kerry Johnston of BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina; and, illustrator and designer Cait Maloney of Cait Maloney Creative.

The officers for the 2018-19 board include: Jodi Salter, president; John Codega, treasurer; Lucinda Statler, secretary; Wade Sellers, past president; and, ex officio members Adrienne Montare, Tom Savory and Sara June Goldstein. The group’s board members include Gene Bell, Eileen Blyth, Sherard “Shekeese” Duvall, Brynley Farr, Tim Floyd, Elizabeth Nkuo Johnson, Betsy Newman, Meredith Ross, Kirkland Smith, Lee Snelgrove, Sara Thomas and Julie Smith Turner.

The Columbia Design League, founded by architects Tom Savory and Adrienne Montare in 1996, promotes a passion for design excellence and exposes members to educational programs and experiential events that celebrate the importance of design in everyday life. The group became an affiliate group of the Columbia Museum of Art in 2000.

About the Columbia Design League

The Columbia Design League is an affiliate group of the Columbia Museum of Art. The group works to educate others about design excellence, emphasize the importance of great design, and to broaden understanding of how good design affects nearly every facet of life. The Design League gathers its membership for an annual series of meetings and welcomes guests and nonmembers with an interest in design. For details, visit or follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

SCBIZtv is part of the SC Biz News family, serving 100,000 high-level business execs throughout South Carolina. Click for more from SCBIZtv.