Newberry College President Named To NECU Executive Committee

President of Newberry College, Dr. Maurice W. Scherrens

Newberry College President Dr. Maurice W. Scherrens has been elected to the executive committee of the board of directors for the Network of ELCA Colleges and Universities (NECU).

The NECU is composed of 26 colleges and universities affiliated with the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America and Luther College at University of Regina in Canada. The executive committee is NECU’s governing body selected from among the presidents of its member institutions.

President Scherrens will serve on the executive committee with the presidents of Augustana University, California Lutheran University, Finlandia University, Gustavus Adolphus College, Texas Lutheran University and Thiel University.

“It is truly an honor to serve the NECU in this capacity,” Scherrens said. “I am confident we have much to learn from the unique perspectives of our fellow institutions and I look forward to seeing what we can achieve together.”

Established in 2015, the NECU represents the common mission and shared identity of ELCA higher education. Students at ELCA institutions are educated to explore their vocational calling as a means toward creating a meaningful life that contributes to the common good whatever their chosen career path.

“This is a unique opportunity for Newberry College to reaffirm its commitment to our motto of Passion, Purpose, and Personal Attention, and to strengthen our relationships with fellow Lutheran institutions across the country,” Scherrens said.

SCBIZtv is part of the SC Biz News family, serving 100,000 high-level business execs throughout South Carolina. Click for more from SCBIZtv.