SCASA’s Foundation for Educational Leadership Hosts Gala Celebrating SC Educator Hall of Fame Inductees and Distinguished SC Public School Graduates

Columbia, S.C.—The South Carolina Foundation for Educational Leadership, South Carolina Association of School Administrators’ (SCASA) non-profit arm, is hosting its third annual gala on Friday, March 29, 2019, to celebrate this year’s South Carolina Educator Hall of Fame inductees and the Distinguished South Carolina Public School Graduates who have excelled nationally and internationally in their respective fields.

The “Seasons of Love: The Story Never Ends” gala will be held at the Columbia Marriott at 6:30 p.m. as a celebration of the impact of public education and how it contributed to the achievements of the six honorees.

The 2019 South Carolina Educator Hall of Fame Inductees:
Dr. Cyril Busbee (posthumous) A graduate of Wagener High School (Aiken County) in 1924, Dr. Busbee was a lifelong educator and was elected SC Superintendent of Education three times. As SC Superintendent from 1966–1979, Dr. Busbee oversaw the integration of South Carolina’s public schools.

Joseph Kenyon “Ken” East (posthumous) A graduate of Lineville High School (Lineville, AL) in 1929, Mr. East started the first public Kindergarten program in South Carolina. He was greatly responsible for the founding of what is now Coastal Carolina University and is considered the “Father of Adult Education in South Carolina.”

Dr. Karen Woodward A graduate of Greenwood High School (Greenwood District 50) in 1960, Dr. Woodward has 31 years of experience as district superintendent for Union County Schools, Anderson School District Five, and Lexington County School District One. She is a lifelong educator and has been recognized nationally by the American Association of School Administrators (AASA) with the 2014 Women in School Leadership Award.
The 2019 Distinguished South Carolina Public School Graduates:

Lou Kennedy A graduate of Lexington High School (Lexington District One) in 1980, Ms. Kennedy is the President, Chief Executive Officer, and Owner of Nephron Pharmaceuticals Corporation. In 2010, she helped to establish the Kennedy Pharmacy Innovation Center in conjunction with the USC School of Pharmacy.

Dr. Anne Matthews A graduate of Lake City High School (Florence District Three) in 1960, Dr. Matthews is the first woman to be named Vice President of Rotary International and is the first woman to serve on both the Rotary Foundation Trustees and the Rotary International Board of Directors.

Craig Melvin A 1997 graduate of Columbia High School (Richland District One), Mr. Melvin is an Emmy Award-winning television journalist and anchor of the Today show on NBC.

For more information about “Seasons of Love: The Story Never Ends” gala tickets and sponsorship opportunities, visit

SCBIZtv is part of the SC Biz News family, serving 100,000 high-level business execs throughout South Carolina. Click for more from SCBIZtv.