SCATCC Announces 2022 Award Winners

The South Carolina Association of Technical College Commissioners (SCATCC) announces the selection of its 2022 award winners.

Commissioner Leadership, Garry Powers, Midlands Technical College
Honors an individual who has made significant contributions to promote the technical or community college concept.

Equity, Tri-County Technical College
Recognizing an exemplary commitment by a technical or community college governing board and its chief executive officer as a group or individual and chief executive officer to achieve equity in the college’s education programs and services in the administration and delivery of those programs and services.

Chief Executive Officer, Dr. Willie L. Todd, Jr., Denmark Technical College
Awarded to the tremendous services of and contributions made by technical or community college chief executive officer.

Faculty Member, Kevin Mitchell, Trident Technical College
Showcasing the central purpose of our technical or community colleges in teaching and learning. This award is presented to say “thank you” to outstanding faculty members.

Professional Board Staff, Michael Zanfardino, Midlands Technical College
Presented to a board staff member in recognition of exemplary service to a board.

These recipients will be recognized and awarded in person at the South Carolina Association of Technical College Commissioners Annual Commissioners’ Academy scheduled for February 1, 2023 in Columbia, SC. Nominations become available each year January 1st and close March 1, annually. For more information, go to

The South Carolina Association of Technical College Commissioners works to ensure that every South Carolinian has an equal opportunity to be successful. By working to educate, train and advocate for all 16 South Carolina Technical Colleges.

SCBIZtv is part of the SC Biz News family, serving 100,000 high-level business execs throughout South Carolina. Click for more from SCBIZtv.