SCATCC Honors 2021 Award Winners

The South Carolina Association of Technical College Commissioners announces the recognition of its 2021 award winners.

Commissioner Leadership, General Art Brown, Technical College of the Lowcountry
Honors an individual who has made significant contributions to promote the technical or community college concept.

Equity, Midlands Technical College
Recognizing an exemplary commitment by a technical or community college governing board and its chief executive officer as a group or individual and chief executive officer to achieve equity in the college’s education programs and services in the administration and delivery of those programs and services.

Chief Executive Officer, Dr. Galen DeHay, Tri-County Technical College
Awarded to the tremendous services of and contributions made by technical or community college chief executive officer.

Faculty Member, LaQuinta Yates, Trident Technical College
Showcasing the central purpose of our technical or community colleges in teaching and learning. This award is presented to say “thank you” to outstanding faculty members.

Professional Board Staff, Kim Boatwright, Midlands Technical College
Presented to a board staff member in recognition of exemplary service to a board.

These were awarded in person at the South Carolina Association of Technical College Commissioners (SCATCC) annual Commissioners’ Academy during an Awards and Recognition Luncheon, February 2, 2022 in Columbia, SC at the Palmetto Club. In addition to these awards, the following individuals were recognized for their years of service to their respective colleges.

5 Years of Service
Daniel Lloyd, Jr., Aiken Technical College
Keyatta Priester, Aiken Technical College
Leroy Robinson, Florence Darlington Technical College
Paul Seward, Florence Darlington Technical College
Ershela Sims, Florence Darlington Technical College
Paula Hite, Midlands Technical College
Mia Cole, Northeastern Technical College
Keith Wilks, York Technical College

10 Years of Service
Raymond Lattimore, Greenville Technical College
Pamela Harrison, Midlands Technical College
Cindy Causey, Northeastern Technical College
Christy Rogers, Northeastern Technical College
Sonny Anderson, Spartanburg Technical College
David Rickenbacker, Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College
Jacqueline Shaw, Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College
Lawrence Weathers, Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College
Gregory Tate, Spartanburg Community College
Allard Young, Tri-County Technical College

15 Years of Service
Terry Hancock, Central Carolina Technical College
Raymond Reich, Central Carolina Technical College
Dan Bozard, Northeastern Technical College
Cherry Brown, Piedmont Technical College
Yvonne Barnes, Trident Technical College
Franklin Medio, Trident Technical College
Johnny Gardner, Williamsburg Technical College
Henry Poston, Williamsburg Technical College

20+ Years of Service
Bobby Anderson, Central Carolina Technical College
Willie E. Boyd, Sr., Florence Darlington Technical College
Alvin E. DeWitt, Florence Darlington Technical College
Annie Jett, Florence Darlington Technical College
Paul Batson, Greenville Technical College
Tommy Branyon, Horry Georgetown Technical College
Y. Melvin Nobles, Horry Georgetown Technical College
Orrie West, Horry Georgetown Technical College
Katie Bolden, Midlands Technical College
Robert Lentz, Midlands Technical College
Kimberly Burch, Northeastern Technical College
Herbert Gould, Northeastern Technical College
Tommy Pharr, Northeastern Technical College
H. George Piersol III, Piedmont Technical College
William Sarratt, Spartanburg Community College
Helen Rosemond-Saunders, Tri-County Technical College
Marion Thompson, Trident Technical College
Christine Green, Williamsburg Technical College
Walter Brown, Williamsburg Technical College
Jeff Sigmon, York Technical College
Charles Robinson, York Technical College

Awards nominations become available each year January 1st. Awards are due March 1. For more information, go to

The South Carolina Association of Technical College Commissioners works to provide orientation and education for area commissioners and to provide advocacy and unity for the 16 technical colleges they represent. The association ensures the effectiveness of the system’s area commissioners and their colleges by educating commissioners, advocating for college needs and priorities at the state level, and providing a unifying link between the institutions that allows information and best practices to be shared.

SCBIZtv is part of the SC Biz News family, serving 100,000 high-level business execs throughout South Carolina. Click for more from SCBIZtv.

Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 8) Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 9)
Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 10) Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 11)
Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 12) Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 13)