South Carolina Economic Developers’ Association Announces 2020-2021 Board of Directors

COLUMBIA, S.C. – August 27, 2020 – The South Carolina Economic Developers’ Association (SCEDA) announced its 2020-21 officers and board of directors during the organization’s virtual annual meeting. SCEDA and its 800+ members have been the ‘Voice of Economic Development’ in the Palmetto State for more than 50 years.

Richard K. Blackwell, SCCED, Vice President of Development at Agracel, Inc., will serve as SCEDA’s 2020-2021 president.

“It’s a true honor to serve as SCEDA’s president for the upcoming year,” said Blackwell. “The board has already been hard at work to provide members with the resources and support they need to bounce back from the impacts of COVID-19. We believe that now, perhaps more than ever, our 800+ members must continue to be strong advocates for effective comprehensive economic development that yields a business-friendly environment with robust workforce development programs that continues to yield opportunities to our citizens that leads to a better South Carolina.”

2020-21 Board of Directors

President – Richard K. Blackwell, SCCED**, Agracel, Inc.

Vice President – Marty Baltzegar, PE, LEED AP, S&ME

Treasurer – Sandy Steele, SCCED**, SouthernCarolina Regional Development Alliance

Secretary – Rick Farmer, SCCED**, Newberry County Economic Development

Past President – Andrena Powell-Baker, SCCED**, Lockhart Power Company

Director, Tavia C.M. Gaddy, SCCED**, Greenville Area Development Corporation

Director, Karen Calhoun, McMillan Pazdan Smith, LLC

Director, John Truluck, SCCED**, Dorchester County Economic Development

Director, Tushar Chikhliker, Nexsen Pruet, LLC

Director, Edward Kluiters, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough, LLP

Director, Brian Tucker, Georgetown County Economic Development

Ex-Officio Members

Mr. Robert M. Hitt, II, Secretary, S. C. Department of Commerce

Designee: Nelson Lindsay, SCCED**, S.C. Department of Commerce

Dr. Tim Hardee, President, S.C. Technical College System

Designee: Brad Neese, S.C. Technical College System

Mr. Duane Parrish, Director, S.C. Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism

Designee: Toni Nance, S.C. Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism

Mr. Jim Newsome, CEO, S.C. State Ports Authority

Designee: Micah Mallace, S.C. State Ports Authority


Since 1965, the South Carolina Economic Developers’ Association has served as the Voice of Economic Development in the Palmetto State. A professional trade association of more than 800 members, with representation from all 46 counties, SCEDA includes local and regional economic developers, as well as officials from municipal, county and state government agencies, construction and engineering firms, utility companies, attorneys, consultants, financial institutions, and higher education.

SCBIZtv is part of the SC Biz News family, serving 100,000 high-level business execs throughout South Carolina. Click for more from SCBIZtv.