South Carolina Trucking Association Announces Top Truck Safety Award Winners

South Carolina Trucking Association Announces Top Truck Safety Award Winners

Columbia, S.C. (April 28, 2021) – The South Carolina Trucking Association (SCTA) has recognized trucking companies and employees for their safety achievements during the previous year. Awards were presented for: Most Improved Truck Safety Award (Golden Strip Transfer, Inc.); Grand Truck Safety Award (Swafford Transport Co.); Driver of the Year (Walter Wayne Hewitt, Belue Trucking); Technician of the Year (Herman Lamb, Atlantic Bulk Carrier Corp.); Safety Professional of the Year (Dennis Lee Horn, US Services, LLC).

To qualify for a Truck Safety Award, companies submitted their safety records, mileage, and accident or incident reports for the 2020 mileage year. Individuals were nominated by their respective Fleet Safety Managers in recognition of their contributions to overall fleet safety.

“Even prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, commercial drivers and fleet professionals had a demanding job requiring extensive knowledge, special skills, great attention, and patience. These essential workers are all the more deserving of recognition for their safety achievements during a global health crisis,” said SCTA President & CEO, Rick Todd.

For a full list of winners, visit or contact

About SCTA:
As a non-profit trade association, the South Carolina Trucking Association serves as the voice of the trucking industry in South Carolina since 1933. Their mission is, “To advocate, educate and collaborate for successful trucking operations in South Carolina.”

The association's carrier members range from small, family-owned businesses with only a few vehicles, to large, national companies with major terminal facilities throughout South Carolina, the southeast and the nation. SCTA’s members work to strengthen the industry and the economy for future generations.

Learn more at

SCBIZtv is part of the SC Biz News family, serving 100,000 high-level business execs throughout South Carolina. Click for more from SCBIZtv.