UPS Honors South Carolina Drivers for 25 Years of Safe Driving

COLUMBIA, S.C., Feb. 27, 2018 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- UPS (NYSE:UPS) today announced that 25 elite drivers from South Carolina are among 1,582 newly inducted worldwide into the Circle of Honor, an honorary organization for UPS drivers who have achieved 25 or more years of accident-free driving.

South Carolina boasts 199 Circle of Honor drivers with a combined 5,059 years of accident-free driving. Roosevelt Green of Columbia is the state’s senior-most safe driver, with 43 years of accident-free driving under his belt. There are 1,480 total full-time UPS drivers in South Carolina.

Globally, 10,504 UPS drivers are members of the Circle of Honor. Collectively they’ve racked up 257,221 years and nearly 14 billion safe miles during their careers. That’s enough miles to travel to the moon and back almost 29,000 times.

“My thanks go to all of them for their dedication and focus and for the countless lives they’ve saved,” said Derick Craft, president, UPS South Atlantic District. “Their attention to detail has kept them safe and has helped improve public safety.”

Globally, the most seasoned UPS Circle of Honor driver is Thomas Camp of Livonia, Mich., with 55 years of driving without an accident. Ronald McKnight of Bronx, N.Y., is next in line with 49 years of safe driving. One hundred twenty six others have logged at least 40 years without an accident.

UPS’s 127,000 drivers are among the safest on the roads, logging more than 3 billion miles a year and delivering nearly 5 billion packages annually.

Founded in 1907, UPS has a rich history of safety and training. The company issued its first driver handbook in 1917 and began recognizing safe drivers in 1923. In 1928, UPS recognized its first five-year safe driver, Ray McCue, with UPS founder Jim Casey presenting him a gold and platinum watch. UPS formally established its safe driving honor program in 1928.

** NOTE: The following page lists local drivers by hometown and UPS center.  If you’re interested in interviewing a local driver, please contact UPS Public Relations at Visit for multimedia assets.

Following is a list of South Carolina drivers inducted this year to the Circle of Honor.

Driver Hometown UPS Work Location
Abercrombie Jr,  James Mauldin Greenville
Ashford,  Jimmie Winnsboro Columbia
Branch,  Danny Woodruff Spartanburg
Dallas,  James Rock Hill Rock Hill
Davis,  Norman Goose Creek Columbia
Donnahoo,  Allen Chesnee Spartanburg
Edwards,  Jeffery North Myrtle Beach Myrtle Beach
Elvis,  Richard Myrtle Beach Myrtle Beach
Haeg,  Thomas Simpsonville Greenville
Hewitt,  Darren Chesnee Spartanburg
Johnson,  Milton Easley Greenville
King,  Robert Florence Florence
Langley,  Timothy Columbia Columbia
Park III,  John Greenville Spartanburg
Parrish,  Royce Myrtle Beach Myrtle Beach
Poston,  Dennis Lexington Columbia
Robinson,  Gregory Anderson Spartanburg
Schmitz,  Dean Myrtle Beach Myrtle Beach
Seras,  Howard Bluffton Mt. Vernon
Shealy,  Randy Leesville Columbia
Shealy,  Ricky Gilbert Columbia
Smith,  Wayne Lexington Columbia
Summers,  Frederick Orangeburg Orangeburg
Thompson  Jr,  Timothy Elgin Columbia
Turner,  Randall Greenville Spartanburg

SCBIZtv is part of the SC Biz News family, serving 100,000 high-level business execs throughout South Carolina. Click for more from SCBIZtv.